E36 3.2 Headgasket DIY

The place to talk about ALPINAs.
e.g. News, Reviews, Insurance, Warranties, Running Costs, Sightings, general questions etc.

Moderators: Charles, neil, D4

richb10touring
ALP
ALP

E36 3.2 Headgasket DIY

Post by richb10touring » Fri Jul 31, 2020 11:11 pm

So, the headgasket on number 77 went last month... It's gone between cylinders 5 and 6, in the same way that many others have gone. Down on power, runs very roughly, compression test shows 5 & 6 way down with 1 to 4 very healthy.

I've read all the threads I can find on here and have absorbed all of the excellent information regarding sourcing a gasket, being that they are the same as were fitted to US spec E36 M3s.

I'm going to DIY the replacement! I have no experience whatsoever, but am technical, methodical and enjoy this kind of thing :D Hopefully a decision I won't live to regret. I'm not going to attempt to document my trials and tribulations on here but will be posting occasional photos on the project on Instgram under @bichreaumont if anyone is into that kind of thing.

Stuff on the menu:
  • Full check for cracks at the machine shop
  • A full clean/blast of the head
  • Valve stem oil seals
  • Valves and seats lapped as necessary
  • Check all accessible hoses, pipes and belts, replace if necessary
  • Obviously new gaskets all round, as well as the HG
  • Inlet manifold sand blast and repaint as its a little shabby
Clearly it's an excellent opportunity to carry out additional, preventative maintenance. Do the mechanically minded on here have any suggestions for things that I should definitely add to my list?
  • Timing chains/tensioners/sprockets/guides? I have no rattling or anything that makes me think I should!
  • VANOS? I don’t have any symptoms of failing VANOS, but it would be a convenient time to change the seal.
  • Crank shaft sensor?
  • Cam sensor?
2000 Alpina B10 3.3 Touring 26 - Sold 2008 and scrapped :cry: